Few hours before the voting starts at the APC presidential primary, available records have shown that Governor Yahaya Bello of Kogi State and Senate President Ahmed Lawan have lost out in the race for the presidential ticket of the ruling party.

A report by Vanguard showed that the Governors elected on the platform of APC have recommended former Lagos State Governor, Bola Ahmed Tinubu, Vice President Yemi Osinbajo, former Minister of Transportation, Rotimi Amaechi, Governor Dave Umahi of Ebonyi State, and Governor Kayode Fayemi of Ekiti State.

With this decision, the number of aspirants that will be contesting for the presidential ticket of APC has been pruned to five.

Speaking on Channels Television, Plateau State Governor, Simon Lalong, disclosed that the decision to prune the number of aspirants to five was reached after what he described as an intense consultation and deliberation as directed by President Muhammadu Buhari.

With this latest decision, the Senate President, Amed Lawan who was earlier announced yesterday by the National Chairman of the party, Senator Adamu Abdullahi, as the consensus candidate has lost out in the race.

Similarly, Governor Yahaya Bello of Kogi State who had earlier assured Nigerians that he will emerge as the presidential candidate and pave way for the younger generation to take over the affairs of the country has also lost out in the race for the ticket of the ruling party.

According to Lalong, the aspirants who make it to the final list will contest for the party’s ticket. He, however, added that aspirants who are displeased with the decision could still contest the primaries.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.